Skewers and Scarves Weblog

pointy sticks, fiber, pets, and sex

Like Bacon and Eggs January 31, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — wayoffiber @ 4:35 am
Tags: , , ,

Sappho and Wheel

Dearest Scarves,

Here is my perfect princess, Sappho, looking her hungriest for the camera, and my newest priceless acquisition, a Kromski Minstrel spinning wheel.  I made fingering weight, 2-ply handspun tonight.  Almost two ounces.  In one night.  It’s soft, balanced, lovely.   Some day, when you too can take advantage of a pile of christmas money all for one thing, you must get one of these.  Spinning wheels are indeed magic.  This wheel has magically made me into a better spinner.  I’m not even cussing that much anymore!  I sit, entranced, lulled by quiet whirrs and ticks, making yarn, string, thread!  

I’m in love.

–  Skewers

 

3 Responses to “Like Bacon and Eggs”

  1. poweroffluff Says:

    I must admit, I am quite jealous of the wheel. Is it weird that I would rather have a portable one? I like the idea of setting up wherever and spinning.
    Have you forsaken your drop spindle entirely?

  2. poweroffluff Says:

    And Sappho looks like she wants to eat my soul.

  3. Skewers Says:

    My cat is not going to eat your soul. But yes, she’s hungry, always hungry…

    Forsaken? Now that I can spin *laceweight* yarn faster and easier than light worsted? I’m not about to kick it to the curb, but it’s existence is now primarily to teach other people spinning. Or for when I want to spin, but am not home.

    I tried to teach H last night on the wheel and was pretty damn unsuccessful — I think one really does have to learn on the drop spindle first. It just… doesn’t make sense unless that makes sense first. There’s too much to keep track of; very much like patting your belly and rubbing your head at the same time. 😉 She also may lack the sustained, detailed attention to it that she’d need. Although, in certain important circumstances, she’s very very attentive. I think you have to be when you’re beating someone.

    – Skewers


Leave a Reply

